VILLAGE OF GLENCOE PUBLIC SAFETY COMMISSION August 23, 2016 – 6:30 p.m.

MEETING MINUTES

1. CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL

A meeting of the Glencoe Public Safety Commission was called to order in the Conference Room of Village Hall, Glencoe, Illinois at 6:32 p.m. on August 23, 2016.

The following were present: Amy St. Eve, Chairperson Daniel Rubinstein, Commissioner

The following were absent:
Andrew Berlin, Commissioner

The following staff members were present: Cary Lewandowski, Director of Public Safety

2. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

- a. April 20, 2016 Open Session
- b. April 20, 2016 Closed Session

Upon a motion made by Chair St. Eve and seconded by Commissioner Rubinstein, the open and closed session minutes of April 20, 2016 were approved by the following vote:

AYES: St. Eve, Rubinstein (2)

NAYS: None (0)

3. PUBLIC COMMENT

There was no public comment.

4. CLOSED SESSION

Upon a motion made by Chair St. Eve and seconded by Commissioner Rubinstein, the Public Safety Commission recessed into closed session at for the purpose of the appointment and employment of specific employees of the Village, pursuant to Section 2(c)(1) of the Open Meetings Act at 6:35 p.m. Said motion was adopted by the following vote:

AYES: St. Eve, Rubinstein (2)

NAYS: None (0)

5. CONSIDERATION OF PUBLIC SAFETY OFFICER APPOINTMENTS

a. Jessica Tetzlaff

Chair St. Eve made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Rubinstein, to appoint Jessica Tetzlaff to the position of Public Safety Officer. Said motion was adopted by the following vote:

AYES: St. Eve, Rubinstein (2)

NAYS: None (0)

b. David Veit

Chair St. Eve made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Rubinstein, to appoint David Veit to the position of Public Safety Officer. Said motion was adopted by the following vote:

AYES: St. Eve, Rubinstein (2)

NAYS: None (0)

c. William Widmer

Chair St. Eve made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Rubinstein, to appoint William Widmer to the position of Public Safety Officer. Said motion was adopted by the following vote:

AYES: St. Eve, Rubinstein (2)

NAYS: None (0)

d. Leyla Alkanat

Chair St. Eve made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Rubinstein, to disqualify Leyla Alkanat from further consideration in the Public Safety Officer examination process. Said motion was adopted by the following vote:

AYES: St. Eve, Rubinstein (2)

NAYS: None (0)

e. Mikayla Calanca

Chair St. Eve made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Rubinstein, to maintain Mikayla Calanca in her current position on the Public Safety Officer Register of Eligibles. Said motion was adopted by the following vote:

AYES: St. Eve, Rubinstein (2)

NAYS: None (0)

6. <u>DISCUSSION REGARDING PUBLIC SAFETY OFFICER ELIGIBILITY LIST</u>

Director Lewandowski summarized that the Public Safety Commission Rules and Regulations require that once the Register of Eligibles has been reduced by at least half, the Commission must replenish the Register of Eligibles prior to making future Public Safety Officer Appointments. Director Lewandowski summarized that after the Commission's appointments and disqualifications made during this meeting, the Register of Eligibles will be reduced by half, and that the Commission can direct staff to create a second band of applicants of all remaining applicants who passed the written examination and administer the remaining examination applicants to the second band, or prepare a new call for examination and initiate a new examination process concurrently with creating a second band of all remaining applicants.

Upon a motion made by Chair St. Eve and seconded by Commission Rubinstein, the Commission deferred further discussion regarding the eligibility list to the next meeting. Said motion was adopted by the following vote:

AYES: St. Eve, Rubinstein (2)

NAYS: None (0)

7. <u>ADJOURNMENT</u>

There being no further business to come before the Commission, upon a motion made by Chair St. Eve and seconded by Commissioner Rubinstein, the meeting adjourned at 8:17 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted, Cary Lewandowski Director of Public Safety